Just Mustard – Seven

Just Mustard have just shared a new single and video called ‘Seven’. This is another release on the band’s own Pizza Pizza Records label. Further evidence of the Just Mustard’s desire to cut their own path.

Vocalist Katie Bell, guitarists David Noonan and Mete Kaylon, bassist Rob Clarke and drummer Shane Maguire formed the band in 2016 and have since developed a reputation as one of Ireland’s most compelling new bands. Blending off-kilter shoegaze sensibilities with more angular hooks, lyrics oscillate between the sardonic and sincere – metamodern and emotionally smart.

Building on the trajectory set by their 2018 debut album, Wednesday, Just Mustard add to the depth of their textured sound with this new release. Ethereal, yet rooted with grit and fluid substances there are instrumental barbs and lyrical snares throughout.

Visually, the band are toying with us too. Micro and macro details skew the senses. Shot by the band’s own David Noonan with Graham Patterson and KT Ball, like everything the band bring there is an unadulterated tone of independence. A kind of surrealism in the personality of picking small details. It’s mesmerizing stuff.

Just Mustard have announced a string of UK tour dates – check the link below, and you can pre-order a limited edition 12″ vinyl of ‘Seven’ by looking beneath the video. Take a peep.



Leave a Reply