Twin Peaks – Unfamiliar Sun

Twin Peaks have just shared a video for “Unfamiliar Sun”, a track lifted from their album Lookout Low. The release is accompanied by the news that the band will be on tour with Car Seat Headrest across North America through the spring and well into the summer. The Car Seat Headrest dates are additional to the already slated dates – details below.

The video for ‘Unfamiliar Sun’ exemplifies the understated work of Twin Peaks. A song about depression, which is not depressing – rather bitter-sweet, adult and assured in finding the right ears. The video is also nuanced, and lets the viewer find the source with no spoon-feeding of emotional content.

Projections of flowers, hearts, sunbeams, and colors fall across the faces of the band. The personal truths of not quite ‘getting it’ are laid out, and songwriter Jack Dolan does all a person can do when suffering from depression. He acknowledges the absence of feeling, he registers the shitty landscape that currently occupies the newsfeeds – and then he looks to nature – and the natural process of all things.

It’s in the seasonal shift that some kind of comfort, and a balance of acceptance is issued. Twin Peaks are great at this stuff – dealing with a complex emotional strata and making it accessible; expressed in the most elegant terms.

Director Wyatt Grant should be applauded for observing the simple vision. His illustrations marry the tonal quality with authenticity and grace.

Will these projections join the band on tour? Maybe they should.

HURRY – BUY – TWIN PEAKS MUSIC

PHOTOGRAPH BY COOPER FOX

TWIN PEAKS TOUR DATES (new dates in bold)
Wed. Feb. 26 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Tue. March 10 – Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi ^
Wed. March 11 – Lexington, KY @ The Burl ^
Thu. March 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theatre ^
Fri. March 13 – Columbus, OH @ Melted Festival
Sat. March 14 – Grand Rapids, MI @ Elevations @ Intersection ^
Wed. April 8 – Adelaide, AU @ Lions Art Factory
Thu. April 9 – Islington, AU @ The Small Ballroom
Fri. April 10 – Marrickville, AU @ Bad Friday Weekender
Sat. April 11 – Tallarook, AU @ Boogie Festival
Wed. April 15 – Melbourne, AU @ Corner Hotel
Thu. April 16 – Fortitude Valley, AU @ The Foundry
Fri. April 17 – Wollongong, AU @ La La La’s
Wed. May 27 – St Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre *
Thu. May 28 – Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theatre *
Tue. June 2 – Detroit, MI @ The Majestic *
Wed. June 3 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth *
Sat. June 6 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues *
Sun. June 7 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre *
Tue. June 9 – New York, NY @ Brooklyn Steel *
Wed. June 10 – New York, NY @ Brooklyn Steel *
Thu. June 11 – New York, NY @ Brooklyn Steel *
Sat. June 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall *
Sun. June 14 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem *
Tue. June 16 – Raleigh, NC @ The Ritz *
Wed. June 17 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel *
Thu. June 18 – Columbia, SC @ The Senate *
Fri. June 19 – Atlanta, GA @ Tabernacle *
Sat. June 20 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl *
Sat. July 18 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
 
^ = w/ Rookie and James Swanberg
*= supporting Car Seat Headrest

Leave a Reply